After so much time…

I’ve been absent from the internet for a few days because I have been active in the real world. I’ve been at least sort of active.

Please excuse this post. It is not legitimate. I am not really discussing anything, although I will soon. I just wanted to quickly write down a few thoughts about things that have happened recently.

1) The pope just reinstated a formerly defrocked priest who is a Holocaust denier. I’d never made much of the pope’s nazi-youth past because he was only a child at the time, but it takes on a new significance in light of his tolerance of such historical-revisionist antisemitism.

2) I read a very interesting article about the Israeli military using Deleuze to provide a basis for planning urban warfare techniques. For example, the concept of ‘smooth’ and ‘striated’ space apparently figured into the development of their strategy in their recent war in Lebanon.

3) Obama… There’s not much to say and a ton to wonder about. I guess the only thing to do is watch and be hopeful.

4) Pittsburgh’s going to the Super Bowl. Awesome.

Ok, I think I’m going to write a more thorough SB preview later this week as well as a real essay/article or two. For now I am tired and in lazy Sunday mode.

Leave a comment